top of page

Podcast Script

Welcome to Pass Time, I am your host Kerrie Sloper, and today we will be speaking about differences between the UK and (Country). We are going to discover the cultural differences between the UK and Portugal and answer the question; How different are we? We will be discussing privacy, communication and languages, asking questions to my guest about if she has noticed these differences from when she moved from Portugal to the UK.

Today I have my guest(s) from (country), (Name).

First topic we have is how the people of these countries present themselves. The British are very reserved and private people and privacy is extremely important for us. We expect others to respect each others privacy and this can extend to not asking personal questions. We are also not typically "animated" in how we speak which can come across to others that we lack emotions because we don't move our hands to talk. Being British myself when I carried out this research, this was typically one topic that I could agree with in how the British present them selves towards each other.

From my research, I have found that the Portuguese are very family oriented, spending time with your family frequently and the older generations too. I also found that they are a lot more open and express their emotions more than the British. Portuguese do respect privacy and are very similar to the British about this topic.

Would you say that you have experienced this from the British when you have been in the UK and that I am correct about the Portuguese communication?

How are the (Country) in respects of privacy and expression of emotions? How expressive are they?

What would you say are some big differences you have experienced between the UK and (country)?

What do you miss about (Country)?

The UK typically speak English, others can speak Welsh, Gaelic and Irish depending on where they are from in the UK. For someone who has never left the UK and cannot speak another language fluently, I do have a lot of respect of you learning the English language as it isn't an easy language to learn in comparison to (countries language).

I've learnt that the Portuguese speak Portuguese, mostly Galician and Mirandese by the Spanish border and also have a romance language.

Am I right about this information?

How difficult did you find it for you to learn English?

Do you remember what it was like to hear English for the first time? What was it like?

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page