top of page

Research Into Jobs In the Industry- Journal

3rd January 2017

In these Journal entries, I will be looking at jobs I would find suitable for myself in the Film and TV industry, looking at their roles and responsibilities to get a better understanding of the jobs.

Editor

After doing some research about being an editor, I found that they have many responsibilities that they must carry out in their everyday job. They have to be able to see the vision the director and producer have and be able to create this vision with the raw footage they have got from filming. They have to be able to edit the audio to fit to the video and to almost seem that there is no editing done at all.

I also discovered that they have hard working periods but may have inactive periods between projects. The pressure for an editor is high, having to meet the deadline and the section you edit is most likely only your interpretation and, sometimes, the directors. Most of their work is in an office environment and you may be moved between working places. Nearly all the work for an editor is done at a computer in the office. You need to have a keen interest and an eye for detail and a critical mind. You also need patience and concentration as this is what you will spend many days doing and the footage can take time to file through to find the best footage. This means that you have to be keen to do this job in TV and Film.

I feel that an editor could be a good job for me in this industry as I do have a keen eye for detail and have a keen interest. I also enjoy editing and don't get bored of it easily and I am said to have a critical mind, always believing the work could be better than the final product but time is what gets in the way of a true masterpiece. I have patience and can communicate with others to present the ideas of their visionary into the editing.

Reference

"Film/Video Editor Job Profile | Prospects.Ac.Uk". Prospects.ac.uk. N.p., 2017. Web. 4 Jan. 2017.

 

4th January 2017

Producer

Looking at the role of a producer for TV and Film, from my research I found that because they have a larger role, they have larger responsibilities; hiring key staff and to supervise the progress of the project being two of them. They have to be confident in their ability and needs strong communication and people skills. They also need management skills and creative abilities. They contribute largely to the project, seeing it through to the end and manage the budget on the project.

I also learnt that their working environment varies because they spend time in the offices and on the location where they film. You also need to be highly motivated and able to withstand pressure as this job can be very stressful. Flexibility and mobility are also extremely important, as is the ability to handle a high level of financial responsibility. The work involves regular unsocial hours at weekends and in the evenings. Long hours and time spent in meetings or on location is the normal.

I feel that a producer would be a big role for myself because of the stress levels included, but I believe that I would come to terms with the stress very quickly and be able to solve the problem in front of me. I have creative abilities and am motivated but I would need more practice in this area to perform this job to the best of my abilities.

Reference

"Film/Video Editor Job Profile | Prospects.Ac.Uk". Prospects.ac.uk. N.p., 2017. Web. 6 Jan. 2017.

 

6th January 2017

Camera Operator

I also researched the possibility of being a camera operator. Camera operators work closely with technology, digital and electronics. You have to be able to use complex technology and be able to mix this with creative visual skills. A camera operator has to be able to work in all weather conditions and has to have a high level of concentration and patience. I also learnt that they spend much of their time on location, working closely with the D.O.P and the director. They have to be able to create their visionary and the work is classically in concentrated sections. This job may be stressful as you have to work close to deadlines and still get the product they wish for.

Their responsibilities are to assemble and de-assemble the equipment, meaning knowing how to take care of the equipment responsibly, and being prepared for putting in creative innovative. The camera operators are normally also the transporters of the crew, driving them to location. They also have to be able to have good understanding of the health and safety regulations because they will be working with expensive equipment and actors on set.

I feel that a camera operator would be a suitable job for myself because this is what I have had most practice at, knowing how to assemble and de-assemble the equipment we use. I go input some creative innovative into the filming we do, trying to meet the visionary of everyone else in the group. I am able to follow directions quickly and effectively and feel most comfortable in this position.

References

"Camera Operator | Creative Skillset". Creativeskillset.org. N.p., 2017. Web. 6 Jan. 2017.

"Television Camera Operator Job Profile | Prospects.Ac.Uk". Prospects.ac.uk. N.p., 2017. Web. 6 Jan. 2017.

 

7th January 2017

Director of Photography (D.O.P)

Directors of Photography are head roles in the production process. During filming, D.O.P's work closely with the Gaffer, the Production Designer, Costume Designer, and the Hair and Make-up Department. They have to bring visual input to the script and be able to convey this to the production designer and other members in the creative department of Film and TV production. They must be able to have precise detail and communication skills so they convey the visionary they get. They also have to have a good understanding of the equipment, especially cameras, and have good colour vision to get the best visual look.

For their responsibilities, they conduct research and preparation including carrying out technical recces of locations. They prepare a list of all required camera equipment, including lights, film stock, camera, cranes and all accessories etc, for the production office to order. D.O.P's are required to spend more time on the projects, setting up the equipment with others to get the visionary they believe that the director and producer want the scene to look like.

I feel that a D.O.P could be a possible role for myself as I have a photographers eye, being able to picture someone else's visionary very well and am able to present this to others to get correct. I have a good understanding of the equipment that we use, being able to understand what quality and how much lighting the cameras may need to get the scene to look as we wish to. I feel that I would need a bit more practice in this area to perform this role effectively to the group and that I would need to increase my communication skills.

References

"Television Camera Operator Job Profile | Prospects.Ac.Uk". Prospects.ac.uk. N.p., 2017. Web. 6 Jan. 2017.

 

10th January 2017

Floor Manager

Floor Managers make sure that the sets, props and technical equipment is safe to use and in the correct place before filming. They make sure that events go according to a set plan and that people taking part know their particular roles and how it fits in with whatever else is happening. They have to have good communication skills, organisation skills and an ability to multi-task. They work closely with every department in the industry to ensure everything is organised.

Their responsibilities are to check that equipment is working before filming, keeping the director and producer informed of action off-camera, adhering to health and safety regulations, giving cues and time counts to presenters, actors or guests and many more. They are required to keep everything organised and on time. If it is a live show, they are also responsible for seating the audience in safe places.

I feel that a floor manager could be a possible role for me as I have good organisational skills and can direct people to where they should be. I know how to check if the equipment works or not and would be able to organise to get back up equipment. I feel this is a role that I could move into comfortably after knowing the other important people in their sectors that I would need to speak to.

References

"Television Floor Manager Job Profile | Prospects.Ac.Uk". Prospects.ac.uk. N.p., 2017. Web. 10 Jan. 2017.

 

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page