top of page

Podcast Journal

12th December 2017

A new assignment has been set at College to create a podcast in a documentary style. The podcast has to go on for two to five minutes and it has to be scripted and well planned. Some podcasts that are documentary styled and planned out are Serial and Ear Biscuits.

Although they do have some improvisation, they are well planned and the presenter knows what they are going to be talking about.

Ideas for Podcast Topics

  • Martial arts.

  • The differences between male and female communication.

  • Why smiles are contagious.

  • Is it sometimes better to tell a lie than to tell the truth?

  • Why it’s important to be yourself.

  • Why it is bad to judge people by their appearance.

  • Interview someone from a different country (I haven't left my country).

  • Things we were taught in school that are wrong.

  • The real stories behind the Disney Tales.

  • Thing we were taught in school that are wrong.

  • Social Issues/ Societies Issues.

Podcasts to get ideas from: http://roosterteeth.com/show/rt-podcast

https://serialpodcast.org/

https://soundcloud.com/earbiscuits

http://www.rickygervais.com/podcasts2.php

 

17th December 2017

Script has been wrote for the idea I have chosen of the interview with someone from a different country. I have messaged a Portuguese friend of mine called Ana Teixieira to see if she wouldn't mind being interviewed. Dates for the recording with her will have to be on weekends as she is a full time college student. I have contacted Ana and are starting to arrange dates with her to record the podcast. Waiting for her response on days that she is available. I will forward the questions to her so she is prepared beforehand.

I have also looked at music choices for the background and introduction music, myself finding a couple of songs that may fit but I may want to research a bit more to find better fitting songs if possible.

 

1st January 2017

I have analysed some other podcasts and wrote up the essays needed for the assignment. This helped me discover ways to present the podcast effectively. Furthermore, I researched how to interview someone effectively, giving me a better understanding how to make an interview go smoothly and sound professional. It also helped me figure out how many types of podcasts exist and what ways you can present the podcast to the audience.

 

9th January 2017

I have edited the introduction to my podcast, mixing the audio of my voice and the introduction music. I had to adjust the volume levels so they fitted and that my voice could be heard over the music. I also had to make sure that the audio wasn't stretching or bursting over the red, meaning the audio was still clear and loud enough for the audience to hear.

 

20th January 2017

I have arranged a date and time to record with Ana tomorrow. I will be booking the equipment for tomorrow so I can record the audio for the podcast. I found some sound effects, using a bell as the transition between topics.

 

23rd January 2017

I edited the podcast today, cutting it down to 5 minutes exactly. The podcast turned out better than expected, my guest giving great, detailed answers to my questions which allowed me to work with more audio and could choose what to keep in.

Tags:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page