top of page

Professionalism- My Roles and Responsibilites

I am studying to become a director in film-making at Bridgwater and Taunton College based in Taunton Campus. I have worked with clients in the 6 months of study that I have done and have put forward my professionalism as this role throughout all projects we have been assigned to make.

 

MY PROFESSIONALISM SKILLS

  • Organisational Skills- I am very professional in how I organise my work. I make sure that I know all the deadlines I have and organise the tasks I need to do around them to meet the deadlines.

  • Problem Solving- I am fairly good at problem solving, being able to figure out the problem and being able to change it. I am also good at problem solving when someone in a group isn't comfortable with their role.

  • Teamwork- I am a good leader in a group and being able to share ideas to make the video the best outcome we could get.

  • Self Motivated- I am self motivated in my work, myself driving to complete my work to my best ability.

  • Written Communication- My written communication in essays and evaluations are of high standard. I am also good at communicating with others through my writing.

  • Creativity- I am good at coming up with an idea and putting it onto paper for others to see. I can get across my visionary to others and know if the creativity is possible to create or not in reality.

  • Time Management/ Punctuality- I organise my work so it is completed before the deadlines. I am also always on time to meetings and studying in my course.

  • Interpersonal Sensitivity- I am good at taking in others opinions and feedback and operating it into positives on how to improve a project. I also take in others ideas and try to incorporate them into the final product.

  • Critical Thinking- I can analyse a piece of work and create a judgement on the piece of work, finding good parts and things to improve on.

  • Media Production- I am good using a camera, editing videos and writing theory about projects. I know a lot about audience theory and how a video is to be presented to them from my GCSE in Media Studies.

 

CLIENT VIDEOS- MY PROFESSIONALISM

Shoot The Moon

Working with Shoot The Moon, myself and two of my colleagues presented them with a music video that they placed as their official music video. I worked closely with the band, keeping them updated on the progress of the music video and incorporated their ideas into the music video as much as possible. I worked as a director in the making of this video, along with my two colleagues, and also worked as a producer because I made sure that all the paperwork was done in time.

Shoot The Moon- "Really love the video. We are going to put together a release strategy and get the video out over the next couple of weeks as an official one. Fantastic work, really love the concept. If you have any ideas for other STM songs then we would be more than happy to work with you again."

Official Release Statement by Shoot The Moon- "Massive credit to Kerrie Sloper, Ines Martins & Anna McGuinness for producing something so well thought out and creative. Also huge props to Ensor Taylor who absolutely killed the performance!"

With this positive feedback from the band, they released this as their official music video and presented it to the World through social media with credit to myself, Anna McGuinness and Ines Martins. We also continued to get positive feedback about the video after it's release.

 

Ria Timkin

I was approached by Ria Timkin in the request to make a music video for her. Working closely with Anna McGuinness, who was the Director of Photography, and Ria Timkin we produced an amazing professional video. I demonstrated my directory skills throughout, making the process run smoothly and directing Ria in her actions as well as Anna's camera movements. I made sure that time was managed properly because we only had one day to film, meaning we had to start early in the morning.

Ria Timkin (Singer)- "I just wanted to say massive massive MASSIVE thank you! The video looks absolutely stunning!!!! I love it so much: all the shadows, angles, projections, lights, everything looks amazing! I am sure it will be a major success and the blogs will love it! And can I just say that the shot on 2:36 looks absolutely identical to how I imagined it in my head!!! Thank you so much! Being honest, you nailed A LOT of the shots to exactly how I imagined it, so it is really amazing! Thank you so so much! I couldn't be more happier with the final product! I really hope it will help you in your studies and portfolio!"

I have had very positive feedback from Ria throughout the whole process of filming and have had praise for the video in itself. Ria plans to release this video in early March as her official music video and is currently working in getting the video into blogs and magazines.

 

Stourhead (National Trust)

We were also presented with the opportunity to create a promotional video for the National Trust for one of their sites that they care for; Stourhead. It was to promote their professionalism in the care of their sites through restoration and conservation.

In the creative group I was assigned with, I was enrolled with the job as a director and camera operator. I made sure that the shoot ran smoothly and enough footage was gathered by each person in the group. I also did some camera work myself, contributing with the work they put forward for the final product. Speaking to the staff around Stourhead, I made sure that they were happy to be filmed and that the times for certain shoots were made on time. I managed to keep the team organised throughout the two days of filming out at Stourhead.

 

IMPROVING MY PROFESSIONALISM

  • Flexibility- Although I have practiced this throughout the Shoot The Moon Music Video, I feel that I could still be more flexible in accepting new ideas and being able to change the idea we originally had to fit to another.

  • Verbal Communication- I am getting better in verbal communication with clients and colleagues but feel that I still need to communicate with more in the design studio to get to know every film maker and their skills.

  • Initiative/ Self Motivation- I need to work on putting forward my ideas much more frequently into a group to put in more ideas for the overall project.

  • Stress Tolerance- I have also become better at stress tolerance throughout the two music videos that I have done. I feel that I am better with tolerating stress but could still use some practice to not get as stressed as before.

  • Assertiveness- I need to work on being more assertive if I want to be a director, meaning I will have to take charge a bit more than I already do.

  • Leadership Skills- Although I have already taken on the role of director in these three client projects and kept them to schedule, I feel as if I need to be more assertive when leading a group.

1212 Words

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
bottom of page