top of page

APPLYING FOR A JOB IN THE MEDIA INDUSTRY


'As our Trainee News Camera Operator, you will certainly have a passion for live TV news production, particularly in a creative and operational capacity. You will be a highly motivated individual as well as friendly and approachable. You will be committed to working as part of a successful team, sharing the responsibility for supporting programme production by having the willingness and aptitude to learn many new skills with appropriate training. Above all, you will be an excellent communicator who is quick thinking and calm under pressure, able to digest and react to information efficiently.'

I recently applied for a job in the media industry for a trainee camera operator for ITV in Bristol. I applied for this job as I can fill the requirements of the job role and continue to perform to the standard they are searching for. The role isn't particularly searching for someone with a ton of experience in the media industry as they are offering a role to train someone and to help them develop their skills. I decided to take the opportunity and apply to this job as I am capable of the role they are asking for and am able to perform to a high standard. Some other requirements are a driving license which is my downfall to getting this job as I am yet to obtain a driving license.

Although when I applied to this job I know that someone with much more experience will apply and have more of a chance than myself, putting out an application can help arise more opportunities in the future. Even though I may not get the placement I may get a response that helps me understand the exact reason why I didn't get the job and what I need to do to increase my chances but could also have the result of being offered a job that they didn't have on offer to me. I applied because it was a role that I could see myself enjoying and attending which could also build my experience and skill sets. They are searching for someone with more camera experience than myself but I connected my CV to the application so they could see what work I have done and what skills I have built even if they aren't elements they asked for. One other thing that they asked for was a show reel which I couldn't provide as I am yet to still make a new show reel but know this is something I need to work on to get better chances in the media industry.

Nevertheless, by putting out an application for a seen opportunity is something I encourage even though you may not get the job because it helps build your confidence and to understand what threats you have and what weaknesses you need to work on to get better chances compared to others who also have applied.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page