top of page

WHIP PAN TRANSITION


The Whip pan transition is used frequently in Edgar Wright's films, being the most noticeable out of the transitions he uses. Knowing this I found three videos to help me understand how to perform a whip pan and execute it properly, making me understand how it is performed and what I need to do whilst filming. This gave me a better understanding of the transition to allow me to go and experiment with the transition in the future.

The videos taught me that to create a whip pan you need to start from your frame before whipping to the right, allowing the shot to become blurry when moving. Once this has been done, for your next shot you need to whip from the left onto your frame to complete the action, this being harder to execute as you need to land on the subject you wish to film. In editing you need to layer the shots to allow the blur to fade to each other, creating a smooth transition between the two shots. This allows you to change the setting or the character's outfits in a simple transition. In editing you can also add a cross dissolve which allows the two shots to blend if the transition seems too noticeable.

The videos I found also taught how to fake a whip pan transition for shots that are still and you want to create into a whip pan, this allowing me to change my mind during editing and still be able to perform the transitions that I need for the film. With a better understanding on how these transitions work and how to execute them properly, I will have to experiment with the shots to make sure that I can perform them and that when it comes to the day of filming that the transitions will run smoothly in editing.

 

References

  • YouTube. (2018). How To Create a Whip Pan - Easy Whip Pan Transition Tutorial. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yz0wwPSSQkw [Accessed 23 Jan. 2018].

  • YouTube. (2018). Make It or Fake It: Whip Pan Transitions. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TjAv2vRlvqE [Accessed 23 Jan. 2018].

  • YouTube. (2018). Whip Pans | Production Tip #2. [online] Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-IoXtzWHIM8 [Accessed 23 Jan. 2018].

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page